This blog follows on from the earlier “Lockdown with Autodesk BIM 360 Design” blogs where we covered the following:
- Roll Back Project
- Interdisciplinary File Sharing using Design Collaboration
- Extended Trial
- Account Administration
- Project Administration
- Design File Creation
When I share my team package last, I had included a redundant file that might cause some confusion on the production line.
- How should one delete the file?
- Can I still see it through the Revit User Interface?
- Will the other teams still see the file in their consumed folders?
- When a new package is consumed, will they file then be deleted?
Open the web interface of the relevant team folder and delete the file.
The file is no longer visible in the Revit graphical user interface. This is as it should be.
The other teams still see the file in their consumed folder. Historically this is correct, but the updated package should result in a new updated situation.
Note the deleted file is no longer available for selection.
I choose to update the documents in the set.
Because I know what that deleted file contained, I am interested to see it is missing from the change visualization. In fact, BIM 360 Design Collaboration change visualization does not recognize that the file is missing as all (it does not recognize the absence of the file as a change).
Now the package is updated:
As can be seen, the file is not deleted from the existing consumed files.
It would, therefore, be necessary for each team to delete the redundant file from their consumed areas. It would be prudent for BIM managers to communicate with each other that files have become redundant and should be removed if necessary.
If you need help adopting Revit and BIM 360 Design in your office, please contact Micrographics so we may be of assistance.