Lockdown with Autodesk BIM 360 Design – Roll Back Project

SHARE
Share on email
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp

This blog follows on from the earlier “Lockdown with Autodesk BIM 360 Design” blogs where we covered the following:

I spent quite a bit of time setting up a structural model for a skyscraper recently. Because I generated many sheets in the model, the file got to be large and cumbersome to work with. I decided to see if the number of views and sheets makes a difference. I needed to experiment with deleting the views and sheets from the model, but what if I wanted to revert to the previous version of the model?

My strategy is as follows:

  • Synchronize with Central so I can recover to an earlier version if I need to.
  • Delete the sheets and synchronize.
  • If performance does not improve, roll back

In my case, I decided to roll back.

To roll back, go to the “Manage Cloud Models” command on the “Manage Models” panel on the “Collaborate” tab

Autodesk, Micrographics, BIM 360 Design, BIM 360 Design, Design Collaboration, Project Roll Back

Listed will be all the projects that contain collaboration files in the relevant Revit version and that you have access to.

Autodesk, Micrographics, BIM 360 Design, BIM 360 Design, Design Collaboration, Project Roll Back

Navigate to your file.  Expand the “Actions” and choose to “View Versions” (the “Relinquish” command allows one to force a user to relinquish their elements – typically they left for the weekend without relinquishing their elements).

Autodesk, Micrographics, BIM 360 Design, BIM 360 Design, Design Collaboration, Project Roll Back

This now exposes the earlier versions one may roll back to.

Autodesk, Micrographics, BIM 360 Design, BIM 360 Design, Design Collaboration, Project Roll Back

Conveniently, Revit prompts the user to take precautions before reverting to the earlier version.

  • All versions later than the selected version will be permanently deleted.
  • Notify other team members to save their changes elsewhere.

Autodesk, Micrographics, BIM 360 Design, BIM 360 Design, Design Collaboration, Project Roll Back

Note, after you rolled back, please close the model and reopen it through the Revit graphical user interface from BIM 360 again.

If you need help adopting Revit or BIM 360 Design in your office or company, please contact Micrographics so we may be of assistance.

 

RECENT ARTICLES