The New Energy Efficiency Standards (SANS10400-XA 2021: Edition 2) has been published.



Since a couple of years ago we had been informed that new SANS10400-XA standards are being worked on and will be published soon.

Municipal Submission requirements are that all plans submitted in 2024 be according to the New SANS10400XA 2021: Edition 2.

A Summary of the revised SANS 10400-XA Standard (2021 Edition)

Part X of the National Building Regulations (NBR) deals with Environmental Sustainability. Part XA specifically deals with Energy Usage in Buildings.

The national standard called SANS 10400 Part XA provides the Deemed to Satisfy (DTS) requirements for compliance with part XA of the NBR. The SANS 10400-XA standard was first issued in 2011. The main energy efficiency items addressed in Part XA are:

  • Insulation of walls and roofs (minimum R-values specified)
  • Solar heat gain and conductance of glazing (fenestration calculations)
  • Energy used for hot water (minimum 50% of hot water to be from non-resistance heating)
  • Energy used for lighting (maximum use and demand specified)

There are two routes to compliance with the XA Regulation:

1. Prescriptive Route:

Compliance with the rules for orientation, shading, services and building envelope as set out in SANS 10400-XA.

2. Performance Route (Rational Design):

Prove that the design’s energy consumption and demand is equivalent or better than the values listed in the tables in SANS 10400-XA.

Energy Zone Map

The number of zones on the map has been increased from 6 to 8. The areas are now called “Energy Zones” instead of the previous “Climatic Zones.” The new zones are listed as 1 to 7, but zone 5 has a sub-section for high humidity areas on the east coast. Multiple zones can still occur over a single municipality or even suburb. For example, the new map splits the City of Tshwane almost in half. A detailed and very useful map can be viewed on the CSIR website at: Energy Demand (

As a reference page for more detailed information visit: Energy Usage & Sustainability (SANS 10400X & XA) – SANS10400-Building Regulations South Africa

To be a little more specific, the main centres for each zone are:

  • Zone 1 – Johannesburg and Bloemfontein
  • Zone 2 – Pretoria and Polokwane
  • Zone 3 – Makhado and Nelspruit
  • Zone 4 – Cape Town and Port Elizabeth
  • Zone 5 – Durban, Richards Bay and East London
  • Zone 6 – Kimberley and Upington

A Few Changes to be aware of:
•    No reference to SANS 204 in SANS 10400 XA:2021 Edition 2
•    Energy zone map instead of climatic zones.
•    The reference building route to compliance will be scrapped, leaving only two routes to comply: The tables and the “recipe” route.
•    For the “recipe” route, buildings will be grouped together according to similar energy requirements rather than type.
•    New thermal performance requirements for suspended or exposed concrete flooring.
•    Higher thermal performance requirements for masonry walling.
•    Simpler calculations for shading and windows.
•    Issues such as thermal bridging and the compression of materials will be addressed.

Getting hold of the Standards:

If you would like to get a copy of the standards, please follow the process below.

Visit the SABS Standards site at: SANS 10400-XA:2021 (Ed. 2.00) (

The application of the National Building Regulations Part X: Environmental sustainability Part XA: Energy usage in buildings Edition 2.

Preview and Add To Cart.

More Information Regarding the SANS 10400-XA:2021 (Ed.2.00)

People, Systems and Businesses Perform better with Micrographics.
Our highly experienced Application Engineers can assist you with:
Autodesk Support, Implementation Training | Consulting | Troubleshooting | Custom App Development For RevitInventorFusion & Vault
For all queries