Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

SHARE
Share on email
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp

If you are working with Collaboration for Revit on BIM 360 Team you are using a fantastic tool for collaboration. Those using this tool are allowed to invite members, regardless of physical location, and regardless from which company, provided, they have sufficient internet bandwidth.

In SA we recommend at least LTE wireless. At work, we have a fiber optic cable with 20 MB upload and 20 MB download, which makes collaboration easy.

When collaboration for Revit on BIM 360 is initiated, a central model is saved in the root folder of the project on the BIM 360 folder, which is hosted in either America or Europe. There is no choice to save to other sub-folders of the project.

Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

A local cache is also created so that the model can be loaded faster with less data transmitted.

Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

The important concept to remember is that the C4R model is only visible to the team that is using C4R. It is not visible on BIM 360. Only once the Revit model is published to BIM 360 does it become visible in BIM 360. When it is published, it is necessarily published to the root folder (where the “invisible” C4R file also exists).

Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

The published file may be moved around in BIM 360. When next the C4R model is published, it is automatically published to the position the previously published model was moved.

Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

What one should not do delete the published model from within BIM 360. Instead remove it using the Revit “Manage Cloud Models”.

Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

Collaboration for Revit (C4R) and Moving Published Models on BIM 360 Team

There are sometimes issues that result if one forgets to do this, and a way to resolve those are discussed here:

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Cannot-delete-Collaboration-for-Revit-model-from-the-cloud.html

RECENT ARTICLES